My Son’s Pain Is My Pain

My journey as a mother proves to be a continuous battle of highs and lows – luckily with more highs than lows. I am fortunate because so far, my son can be considered healthy (though on the thin side). But as a mother, especially since my son is only 20 months old, it is very difficult for me to see my baby in pain.

Last wednesday (March 31, 2010) I woke up around 7:30 am through my son’s persistent nudging and movements and found our him and our bed soaked with watery stool. The night before I knew that he was having stomach pains since he kept getting my hand and putting it on his stomach. But not knowing what the real problem was, I couldn’t do anything about it. He has been through mild cases of diarrhea before but not quite as bad as this one. So that morning we decided to observe first if his stools were going to get better. But they didn’t and he seemed very thirsty for the rest of the day. So 14 hours later, my mother-in-law (who is also my son’s pediatrician) recommended that we bring him to the hospital. I have never been confined in a hospital before giving birth. So maybe I assumed that my son would be the same way. It was very difficult for me to bring him to the hospital not knowing what the outcome would be (his type of diarrhea seemed like symptoms for rotavirus or cholera). So we brought him to the emergency room and they had to put him on dextrose since he was becoming dehydrated. Seeing his tears and hearing him scream while the IV was being inserted was heartbreaking. And for the rest of the night, even when we were at the hospital room, he kept freaking out every time a nurse would come near him. If only I could’ve taken his pain from him. He only really calmed down when we were the only 2 left in the room. Finally around 1230 am of April 1, he fell asleep.

The next morning, I knew my prayers were answered – his test results came out normal. He was smiling more and kept moving around (even though he was irritated with the IV). But the important thing was he became my happy little boy again. After lunch, even though he was still hooked up to the dextrose, we went to my in-law’s house and took care of him there. And finally around 1130 pm, his IV was removed.

I know some people may have experienced worse but I know that every mother can say that no pain will ever be too insignificant and that her child’s pain will always be her pain. And maybe this happening during holy week is an opportune time for me to once again thank God for all the blessings he has showered upon my family because despite whatever pain I’ve been through in the past (I lost my father during holy week as well) He still has never left my side; and to thank Him for giving us His only son- who in turn gave up his life for us. Only our Father’s love can accept all the pain thrown at him and only His love can sacrifice so much- knowing that at the end of it all, His children will be saved.

Have a blessed holy week!

4 thoughts on “My Son’s Pain Is My Pain

  1. ey els! i hope keene is okay already! thanks for sharing =) GOD is good =)
    Your blog reminds me of the movie the Passion of Mel Gibson. It doesnt only remind me of how much He loves us. It also clearly depicts Mary’s pain, as a mother, as Jesus was crucified.

    HAPPY EASTER!

  2. Ela, what a wonderful sharing! Thank you for touching our lives. I hope that Keene will continue to be well 🙂 God bless!

Leave a Reply

