Countdown to Australia (2 days to go!)

Like all great travelers, I have seen more than I remember, and remember more than I have seen.”  ~Benjamin Disraeli

It has been 12 days since my last domestic flight and 54 days since my last international flight. I enjoyed April sorely because it was the only month since October that I didn’t have to get on a plane (and the next month I’ll be able to enjoy staying home will be in August). Our close friends know how much my husband and I love to travel. We actually made a vow not to travel that much this year but there is something about exploring new places and experiencing new cultures (regardless of whether or not we’ve been to a certain place before) that makes us still want to do it. And at this very moment, I cannot think of any other way to live. My husband laughs at me when I say that sometimes I feel like that’s what I was born to do (yes he laughs but I know he feels the same way!)

My son is turning 2 in July and I know sooner than I think we’ll have to lessen our travels considerably (since he will start school soon). It scares me a bit not to have that freedom to travel anymore. We’ll be limited to his summer and Christmas breaks and weekends. But then I think that wouldn’t be so bad, would it? Then he’d be able to come with us to some of our travels. At this rate, he would probably be able to visit more countries than me since he’s 2 before 2! 🙂 I would always tell my husband that it would make me really happy if our son would learn how to love travel the way we do (hardly any shopping, hardly any tours – own time, happy with seeing and experiencing new cultures, happy with just eating and eating and eating, etc). I got the love for travel from my parents and I hope he gets his from us.

49 hours and we’ll be off once again. My husband’s excitement is starting to get to me. I’m counting the hours till I get to visit the Queen Victoria Market again, see the penguins at Phillip Island, relax at Surfers Paradise and visit Currumbin and Dreamworld, walk around Sydney and eat at the Sydney fish market. I know that my son is still too young to remember this trip but I hope this will be the start of our many adventures with him.

One thought on “Countdown to Australia (2 days to go!)

  1. Pingback: Countdown to Australia (2 days to go!) | rsstimes.net

Leave a Reply

