Countdown to China (1 day to go!)

“A man travels the world in search of what he needs and returns home to find it.” – George Moore

My husband and I are going to Shanghai for a couple of days. It’s funny how we travel a lot together but it took a while for me to appreciate traveling with just him. The last time we traveled with just the 2 of us was last February. The 4 trips we took since then were always with friends and family. Not that I don’t like traveling with other people it’s just that sometimes our travel styles are so much different from those we spent time with. I am a very impatient person and it’s hard not to get irritated when things don’t go according to plan (translation: when people don’t take into consideration time and schedules that have been set beforehand). So even though sometimes my husband and I still get into fights when we travel, at least we understand each other well enough to know which buttons we shouldn’t push.

Unfortunately, this country will not add up to my 30 countries before 30 list. But after this trip we’re thinking of a couple of new places to go to, so hopefully one or two new countries will be added before the year ends.

Anyway, we’re pretty excited to go to Shanghai since the last time we were in China we were only able to visit Beijing. Luckily we have a friend who works in Shanghai (http://caaarmel.tumblr.com/) so we were able to ask for Shanghai tips and recommendations. Based on the list that she gave us, we would probably go to the following:

1. World Expo – most people would probably go to Shanghai for this particular event and we’ve heard great things about it. Apparently the expo closes at 12 midnight and if you buy your tickets after 4 pm it’ll only cost you 90 rmb (the regular ticket rates are 160 rmb/ticket).  But my husband and I usually start our days early (when traveling only!) so I’m sure we’ll be able to visit some expo sites early on.

2. XingGuan Building – 7 heavenly floors of photography items. I cannot wait to see this!!!

3. Shanghai World Financial Center – the 3rd tallest building in the world. I’ve been to 3 of the top 10 tallest buildings; my husband has been to 4. We enjoy visiting skyscrapers for some weird reason. So I am looking forward to adding more to my list.

4. Huaihai Road – A shopping area similar to Singapore’s Orchard Road. There were a lot of shopping areas on her list but I’m not into shopping that much so I’ll be contended with just going around this one.

5. Xintiandi – She describes this as Shanghai’s “Greenbelt/Eastwood” Area (to be understood by people from Manila). I’m assuming it means that this area has shops and restaurants that are open till late night. I’m looking forward to this because we might eat at Din Tai Fung!

6. Tianzifang – her exact description is that “old houses are transformed into an arts area with cafes and restaurants”. Hopefully we’ll be able to take lots of pictures here.

7. Bund area – A walkway by the river. This is where we’ll be able to see the Pudong Skyline.

8. Pearl Tower – she says that this is an obligatory tourist spot (and across there is a Super Brands Mall).

9. Jingan Temple – it would be nice to see some of the temples in Shanghai.

There are a couple of more places on her list such as the Barbie concept store, Taobao Building / Hancity (to go shopping for fake goods) and Nanjing West Road. Hopefully we’ll have enough time to visit most of the sites but if not at least we’ll have a reason to come back.

2 thoughts on “Countdown to China (1 day to go!)

Leave a Reply

