March: A Month for Remembering

Today I’m taking a break from my usual travel stories because today’s date is an extremely important one in my life.

It was exactly 7 years from today when my mom passed away and next week it will be my dad’s 14th death anniversary as well. Looking back, I still consider these the two most painful experiences in my life. I don’t think anyone will be able to imagine the pain of a parent’s death until they’ve experienced it themselves. And it’s a kind of pain I wouldn’t want to wish on anyone else. I was still young when my dad passed so the impact was there but not quite as significant as my mom’s passing. I was almost 23 years old then and by losing the most important person in my life, my world just came crashing down. It didn’t help that these two happened so close to my birthday. Like any normal human being, there are days that I’d wish they were still here -knowing of course that it’s just not possible yet still hoping that they’re watching over me.

It is always during this month that I remember the most about them. The birthdays, Christmases, New Years – all celebrated with every tradition you can imagine. I remember it was my dad who made me taste my first bottle of beer. He bought me my first CD. He was the one who told me to always keep guys at arms length and to always choose a guy who has a good, loving and kind family (when I was in 7th grade!!!). It was my dad who encouraged all of us to travel together as a family and to just travel in general. My dad always had his Nikon film camera when we’d travel and he’d take so much pictures of everyone. My mom on the other hand was the ultimate housewife. I don’t think there was anything that my mom couldn’t do. She was the one who took me to my first ballet class and to all the other lessons I took. I always traveled with her. She helped me with my homework. She inspired me to be OC  (but until now I still cannot for the life of me file my papers the way she did). She helped me cook my very first dish. And she was there for me every step of the way, no matter how hard headed I got. So little time, yet I know I have so much memories to be thankful for.

with mom

with dad

So today, like the past years, I give thanks to the Lord for giving me such great parents even if my time with them was very brief. I thank Him for helping me realize how beautiful life is and for helping me appreciate every minute I have on this earth. I know despite the pain, I have been truly blessed and I am eternally grateful for His constant outpour of blessings. And to my wonderful parents- wherever you may be, I miss you and thank you because I know I am who I am because of you.

6 thoughts on “March: A Month for Remembering

  1. I was so touched by this post Ela..in a way I feel the same about my grandfather who raised me like his own daughter. Despite being so young and it being so long ago (was in 5th grade)… the memories still squeeze my heart whenever I think of them. Thanks for sharing and I loved your pictures with them. *hug*

  2. I am so touched by this pictures Ate Ela, i was also a part of this family.. how could i ever forget! Yes truly this month is worth remembering. Both Tito Ernie and Tita Cir is surely missed.

    • Thanks Tala 🙂

      Haha yeah all my pictures when I was young look like Keene! I showed him the pictures in this entry and I was like “who is that?” He was like “Keene and….who’s that??!?!?!”. Haha.

Leave a Reply

