My Top 8 Travel Memories Of 2011: #5 Maya Bay, Thailand

The Beach. Leonardo Dicaprio. That is what Maya Bay was all about. It is part of the Phi Phi Islands of Thailand. Yes I know going here was very “touristy”. It was the ultimate definition of being touristy. But it was still beautiful despite the number of people (you could literally step on someone while walking along the shore).

We booked a tour through Sanan, the cab driver that brought us to the hotel from the airport. The tour group was called Ao-Nang Photo Travel. If I remember correctly we were charged 1,200 Baht for each adult (our son was free). The speedboat was big and clean. We we around 20 in the group – a mix of kids and adults. The rate was inclusive of lunch, snacks and transfers to and from the hotel. Our guide was kind and enthusiastic so we were quite happy with them.

I’m probably just die hard Leo fan but it was fun being able to see where the movie was shot and to actually see that it was as magnificent as it was in the film (despite the controversy of how the landscaping for its filming damaged the island’s ecosystem) . The sand was fine and powdery. The water was clean and clear. It’s as simple as that. I wish that I could go there with less people so I could enjoy it more. The sad thing was because it was commercialized we realized a little too late that it was not as safe as the other isolated islands. My husband lost his sunglasses when he left it on top of our towel and while I was sitting right beside it. Nevertheless, I really hope that I could visit this place again and other spectacular islands of Thailand.

maya bay thailand

Leave a Reply

